top of page
  • Writer's pictureKate Folsetter

Keeping Together: Mental Health Tips

Now more than ever, it's essential to take care of our mental health and wellbeing. As teens, we put so much pressure on ourselves, and we are under a lot of stress with school and our personal lives. Especially with the crazy times we live in with The COVID-19 pandemic and the BLM movement, it's essential to look after your mental health. Even if you don't have a diagnosed mental illness, it's necessary to take care of your mental health. Looking after your mental health is just as important as your physical health. Here are some tips and tricks I have used to help me with my mental health.


I have always loved writing and being creative. It is my outlet for me to express myself in ways that are hard to discuss. To represent the emotions, I am feeling internally. I do this by painting, drawing, writing creatively and singing. I recently have found that I enjoy spoken word poetry. It's an excellent way to express things that are hard for me to talk about and to connect with people who have experienced similar situations. In terms of writing, I also practise journaling. I spend at least 10 minutes journaling when I feel like it. Journaling helps me to express my thoughts and get my feeling off my chest. It helps a lot when I am feeling depressed or anxious.


I also find that exercising helps me to feel better. If I am in the right headspace, I do a workout. I feel good knowing that I'm strengthening my muscles and making myself healthier. If I'm not feeling up to it then, I go on a walk or hike. It makes me feel better getting outside in nature and getting some exercise in.


During this pandemic, I have felt very socially isolated. I am an extrovert, so I need to be around people to feel like a whole person. I am involved in lots of extra-curricular activities, and I work during the week. I feel bad because I'm missing out on essential parts of my life. To make myself feel better, I try to communicate with friends online over platforms like Zoom, Discord, Facetime and Social media. Now, since the weather is more beautiful, I can go on walks and hang out with some friends (while distancing, of course). Social interaction in any capacity is vital for social development and self-actualization. When I feel overwhelmed, or my mental health isn't stellar, I find that spending with family and friends is helpful.


I have been so used to bottling up my emotions inside. This can be unhealthy and lead to emotional overload. My friends and family are super supportive of me. They allow me to vent and talk about my feelings with them. It's important to vent, to get your emotions out. However, it's vital to find a balance between healthy venting and oversharing.


I have also been in therapy to help my mental health. I am not embarrassed that I got into therapy. To go to therapy, you don't have to have a mental illness. It can be a good step in preventing the development of mental illness. I believe that we shouldn't feel ashamed for getting help for mental health and that it's crucial to eliminate the stigma surrounding mental health. The only way to remove the stigma is by talking about it to spread awareness. I liked going to therapy because I was able to speak to a professional free of judgement. It was helpful because she was removed from my personal life and gave me professional guidance. Through therapy, I learned how to do breathing exercises to help my anxiety, get rid of intrusive thoughts, and increase my confidence. If you have the means, I would wholeheartedly suggest talking to a professional about your mental health. It can be super healthy, and you never know what you'll get out of it. I have also tried using online resources like KidsHelpPhone. They have different ways that you can connect with a responder. I have used their online chat, and it was beneficial. I am a good listener and give excellent advice. I love supporting my friends, especially in their time of need.


When it comes to school, that can be overwhelming for me. I always put so much pressure on myself to work hard and get good grades. I hope that by getting excellent grades, I can get into the program I want at university. I am also a perfectionist. I work hard to get my work done. Although I try too hard to make everything I do correctly. It is unhealthy to have unrealistic expectations for yourself. This can cause me to feel stressed and anxious. School can be a trigger for my anxiety. I have experienced panic attacks in school, especially in math class. I make sure to practice self-care in school to make sure I am in the best mental headspace to learn. Firstly, to help my mental health in the classroom, I pay attention to my physical needs. If I need to eat a snack, am I cold, do I need to get a drink, or do I need to go for a walk.


Frequently when you focus on your physical needs, it can help you to feel better mentally. While I'm doing my work, I listen to chill music. Listening to music helps me to relax and to focus on the task at hand. I make sure that it isn't too emotional and relatively upbeat. Because I have an IEP, I have the opportunity to work in the Learning Resource room. This is a specific room in my school that is a quieter work environment. I often go to receive extra time on tests, have a quiet place to work or get help on assignments if I need it. Overall, I really enjoy school, but I can hard to handle, especially when I don't feel mentally well.


My mental health may not be perfect. These are just a few things I try to help me feel better and to focus on my self-care. The tips and methods I have found work well for me, but I understand that they don't work for everyone. I hope you can learn from me and my experiences with mental health.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page